Editing your life: back-to-school edition.

If you’re like most twenty-somethings (me included), the end of summer means back-to-school (at least, for this final year of my post-secondary education). For me,  back-to-school means a serious edit of my summer lifestyle. 

For starters, I usually work full-time and then-some for the summer. This summer I worked a 30+ hour work week at a government job, plus freelanced as much as I could AND picked up some nannying hours here and there. This meant, I was making money. And making money is probably the number one thing my summer lifestyle is based around. I have cash to burn – so I spend it. I’ve never really been very good at saving.

 Though, I still had to get up early for work, work didn’t really involve as much thinking as school does, and I really didn’t care too much if I was tired or not. That said, I’d manage to get out at least a couple nights a week to see some live music, or hit my favourite pub for a pint (or two). 

I got used to sleeping in on the weekend (and I mean, really sleeping in… sometimes I wouldn’t roll out of bed until noon. Gasp). I lazed around the house during the day because, to my amazement, I didn’t have a to-do list.

 Well, now I’m back to the grind and going on my third week of the fall semester. It only took a few days to realize that I can’t live my carefree summer lifestyle anymore. I’m not working full-time anymore (in fact, I’m hardly working), and therefore, have given up the paycheck that goes with the full-time hours. That said, I’m probably going to be working 10 times harder to get everything I need to done in terms of schoolwork.

 Oh crap. I’m going to have to seriously edit my lifestyle: Creative Communications style. 

 Here are a few tips I’ve put together on editing your lifestyle just in time for getting back to the grind.

  • Wake up at the SAME time every day. I know this may seem unnecessary, especially if your class times vary between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 a.m. during the week, but giving yourself a set wake-up time helps your body adjust to the routine better.
  • Pack your lunch the night before. This saves you time in the morning and also ensures that you won’t be sans lunch as you’re running out the door to make it to class on time. It also saves you money. 
  • Give yourself ONE night a week to go out. It’ll help your sanity – you’ll get to burn off some steam once a week. That said, it’ll also help your dwindling bank account if you’re like me and don’t have the summer-funds to spend on multiple nights out during the week.
  • Make a weekly to-do list. More importantly, prioritize these to-do lists in date order. My agenda book is my best friend. I wouldn’t be able to keep everything straight without it, and with all of the assignments us CreCommers get, it’s really beneficial to lay out what needs to be done for when – and do it in that order.
  • Set a specific time of day that you’re going to do homework, and stick to it. For me, it’s after dinner. I give myself an hour or two when I get home from school to put my feet up, relax, and eat some dinner with my family. Once the dinner dishes are loaded in the dishwasher, though, it’s time to hit the books. And once I’ve hit the books, I work until I’ve accomplished everything I need to for the following day. 
  • Put yourself on a budget. Most of us have cell-phone bills, credit card bills, student loan payments, car payments, etc. that don’t go away even though we’re back to being a full time student. Make sure you have enough money to pay all of the necessary bills, put a little into savings, and then give yourself a fair amount of cash to spend on fun things for the month. But don’t forget, once it’s spent, it’s gone – no dipping into savings.

 So, there you have it, some tips on editing your lifestyle: back-to-school style. Happy studying, friends!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

