Editing my bedtime


Here’s the thing. I have always been a night owl.

I think it goes back to my university days when I used to stay up all night writing papers – yes, I was one of those people. One of my friends and I used to have a joke about witching hour (you know, around midnight), and  said that some of the best work gets done between the hours of midnight and 4 a.m.

Well, ever since then, I often find myself up until the wee hours of the morning. Most of the time, at least these days, I have every intention of counting a few sheep and hitting the pillow early. Most of the time, I get carried away doing something at my laptop, or caught up in a good book. Before you know it, it’s 2 a.m. And most of the time, I have to get up for school around 6:30 a.m.

Let’s do the math. That’s uh, about four-and-a-half hours of sleep. Definitely not enough for this girl. If I’m going to be fully functioning I need at least seven hours a night. If I don’t get my seven hours I end up walking around in a zombie like state. Which, since school has started up again, is more often than not.

So, I’ve decided I need to put a stop to this. I am going to start going to bed early (or as early as I can as the year progresses and the assignments pick up), and I am going to try and get in at least a full seven hours a night.  It’s probably going to take some getting used to, as sitting in bed surfing the internet has become just as much a bad habit as smoking, and biting my nails – but this is one habit I’m going to break.

I’m setting myself a few new rules. No computer after 10:00 p.m. , Lights out at 11:0o p.m. at the latest. Between the hours of 10:00 and 11:00 I can read a book, and that’s it.

It’s almost 10:00 p.m. – you know what that means. ‘Night folks!

 

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

